Created in 1842, the Annecy Museum successively occupied the Town Hall and the Palais de l’Ile before finally being moved to the Castle in 1961. Today, the city of Annecy governs three cultural institutions: the Annecy Museum and Castle, the Palais de l’Ile, and the Animated Film Museum. They offer visitors the possibility to discover a rich regional heritage, to learn about the natural lake environment, and to explore the exciting world of contemporary creation in France.
ANNECY MUSEUM AND CASTLE
A unique historical site
Listed as a Historical Monument in 1902, Annecy Castle was the residence of the Counts of Geneva until 1394. Numerous transformations during the 15th and 16th centuries gave the castle its unusual appearance, a blend of medieval defensive architecture and elegance in the French renaissance style. Abandoned in the 17th century, it was used as military barracks until 1947. The Castle was bought by the Town of Annecy in 1953. The first exhibition was inaugurated three years later, marking the beginning of a new cultural vocation for this former palace of Princes.
Through temporary and permanent exhibitions, presented in the fully restored rooms of the castle, the museum presents rich and diversified collections to visitors. They comprise objects linked to regional heritage and lake architecture, medieval sculpture, alpine landscape painting from the 18th to 20th centuries, as well as contemporary works of art that question the relationship between man and his natural environment.
ORLA - Regional Alpine Lakes Observatory
Admission to the Annecy Castle includes a visit to the Regional Alpine Lakes Observatory, comprising over 700 m2 of exhibition space located in the Tower and Logis Perrière in the Castle. Visitors are invited to discover the complex, fragile and coveted environment of alpine lakes through its original displays, organised around five fields of scientific research: biology, ecology, ethnology, archaeology and limnology. The Observatory was created in response to the concerns of the local population, wishing to preserve the quality of their environment. It contributes to the promotion and protection of the natural alpine environment.
PALAIS DE L'ILE, the Center for Architectural and Urban Interpretation
In 1325, this stronghold was first mentioned as a prison, which is no doubt the longest and most continuous function of the Palais de l’Ile. It simultaneously housed other activities linked to court life, for instance the Counting House and the Palais de justice (law court) from which it got its name - “Palais de l’Ile” - in the 16th century.
In 1944, the Palais de l’Ile featured a museum presenting the history of the town of Annecy. An emblematic and symbolic building, it officially became the Center for Architectural and Urban Interpretation in 1999. The Center invites visitors to discover exhibitions on local, regional, and international architectural movements, in order to better understand the urban environment. On the ground floor, you will learn about the history of this exceptional building and can visit several of the former jail cells of the old prison.
ANIMATED FILM MUSEUM
Welcome to the place of illusions! The museum presents a rich collection of objects and archives; you will discover a whole century of animation through hands-on displays which allow you to explore the secret processes of this magical art. Ideal for families with children of all ages.
Tel : + 33 (0)4 50 33 87 30
Email : firstname.lastname@example.org
Annecy Museum and Castle + Regional Alpine Lakes Observatory: Place du château - 74000 Annecy
Palais de l’Ile: Passage de l’Ile - 74000 Annecy
Open daily from 1 June to 30 September, 10.30 am to 6 pm
Open daily except Tuesdays from 1 October to 31 May, 10 am to 12 noon and 2 pm to 5 pm.
*Last entry 45 min before closing
Closed Easter Sunday and Monday, 1 May, 1 November, 11 November, 25 December, 1 January.
Annecy Museum and Castle
Entrance: 5.50 € / reduced price: 3.00 €
Palais de l'Ile
Entrance: 3.80 € / reduced price: 2 €
Combined ticket Annecy Museum and Castle + Palais de l'Ile: 7.20 €
Animated Film Museum: Chapelle du Conservatoire d’Art et Histoire, 18 avenue du Trésum - 74000 Annecy
Closed in January
Open daily except Tuesdays and Sundays (open the first Sunday of every month) from 1 February to 31 May, 10 am to 12 noon and 2 pm to 5 pm.
Open daily from 1 June to 30 September, 10.30 am to 6 pm.
- Palais de l'Île Comprendre l'architecture et le patrimoine (Fermeture temporaire pour travaux)
- Conservatoire for Art and History
- The Castle-Museum